Just Had a Spike of Hyperacusis — Would CBT Help Me?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Rosa_D_123, Dec 21, 2021.

1. Rosa_D_123

Rosa_D_123 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      9/2021
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown officially but suspect noise-induced
      Hi, I'm a college student who has had tinnitus since September.

I recently went to an ENT about my tinnitus and the hearing loss I thought I had. I went to the consultation expecting a diagnosis of tinnitus (which I got) and low frequency hearing loss. I was right for the first (no surprises there) but my hearing test came back that I had little to no hearing loss. He said that, while I had a bit more trouble at lower frequencies, I had no real 'hearing loss' which was a real positive for me as I had expected to at least get the diagnosis of some hearing loss. He said that my hearing was actually on the upper end of the spectrum. This confused as 80% of people with tinnitus experience some form of hearing loss. This started to make a little more sense to me today though.

It is important to add that I have taken to wearing foam earplugs all day everyday since I got tinnitus, with the intent to protect my ears as much as possible. I have also become a bit of a recluse (which I'm trying to get past). Thinking back, this is likely why hyperacusis was less of an issue. Don't get me wrong, some days, even me talking can cause my ears to pulse at every syllable, but the earplugs made it less prominent most of the time. I informed the ENT of this, although I probably should have better communicated the severity of it, and he said it was likely nothing to worry about as he could not see any physical damage to my ear canal or eardrum.