Learning from a Mistake

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Onebigburb, Jun 19, 2018.

1. Onebigburb

Onebigburb Member

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Gunshot
      Hello, I am on here to learn what I can about my new found loss of hearing.

Simply who I am. I am a 29yr. Old male. I am a millwright for a living. I am outdoors, automotive enthusiasts. My new found loss of hearing has caused me to join this board for learning.

Background on my case, I shot one of my firearms without ear protection. I am normally a huge advocate for ear protection. However I had done it before and as humans are "whats one more time?". Only this time I didnt know I had purchased the wrong ammo from the store clerk. Instead of .45 auto 185gr. I bought 230gr. While needless to say I found out the hard way. I knew something was wrong I had never seen my firearm throw a 12" muzzle flash.

I waited a few days got into a dr. They gave me a round of prednisone. No change went in again an they gave me a dose of antibiotics cant remember name but was new better version of penicillin. No change took another week or two got into primary care ent. They did an audio test an since I am a millwright for work I have old ones on file. The new test shows a 10 db drop at 6khz (so 20db total) and 40db total for 8khz. The ent said basically nothing they can do heres the door.

First I want to say thank you to everyone on this board this has been a huge roller coaster so far. The thoughts of hope an saying to calm down an relax have helped me get threw this last week.

I have some questions in genral maybe someone can answer.

Since I am prove it to me kind of person an they cannot see past ear drum will an mri help? The fullness in my ear is driving me bonkers I dont care about the ringing pretty sure that came an went before this do to my activities an line of work. I dont like the fact they cant see anything wrong. I want to know what was damaged exactly.