Let the Ringing Begin!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by bbithead, Jan 9, 2016.

1. bbithead

bbithead Member

Tinnitus Since:
      08/01/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      I was a machinegunner in the Marine Corps for 4 years
      Ok, I guess I'm a noob in the world of Tinnitus. I was shopping at the local supermarket the evening of August 1, 2015, when my left ear started ringing, which didn't immediately phase me because I have had occasional "normal?" ringing in my ears all of my life. But a few steps further and the ringing seemed to block out all other sounds for a few seconds, almost in both ears, then stabilized at a low-moderate volume. I continued shopping and noticed the ringing did not stop. The same when I returned home, went to sleep, woke the next day, still the ringing. Flew out west on vacation and back, a ringing we go. You get the picture! I started the Google search for causes, cures, others peoples stories, etc. Started analyzing the various pitch or pitches that the ring(s) would play (notch therapy?). It's been 5 months and a week, and it hasn't stopped. The ringing usually doesn't bother me, but it has increased in volume two noticeable times. So some questions from this noob:
      • I have not gone to a doctor yet to be officially diagnosed; is this important for me to do?
      • If so, what type of doctor is best?
      • Is it basically true that essentially there is no cure, that I just have to endure to the end with this?
      Thanks in advance for any comments ! :)
      ~bbithead

2. steffievdboom

steffievdboom Member

Hello :)
      I think you Should always see a doctor if your t changes or exists for the first time. Let your ears get a check. Of there is nothing found that causes the t could iT be you have been suffering a stresfull period lately?