Long-Term Disability Possible for Tinnitus?

Discussion in 'Support' started by dj_newark, Jun 16, 2013.

1. dj_newark

dj_newark Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Hey All,

First time posting here. I've had Tinnitus for 23 years at this point. I have high faith in the work being done by UT Dallas regarding this disease. I hope to take part in their trials this fall.

But my condition is now so advanced that it's almost impossible to function. It's full head, sounds like a whooshing combined with a disturbingly / rapidly modulating thin whistle at maximum volume. I work as a UNIX admin and have worked on some really big and highly recognizable websites. But at this level it makes my work almost impossible to do. I recently made a mistake so catastrophic that it caused my dismissal. Yet another job lost due to this astounding case of T.

It was very nice of my last employer to carry my insurance through the end of the year so I would not have to pay for COBRA. But my question now is this: I am now convinced that I cannot function in society and work effectively due the nature of my Tinnitus. So what I want to know is would anyone think it's possible for me to use my insurance benefits to get disability payments long enough for me to participate in the trials this November?

2. Steve
      Creative

Steve Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Flu, Noise-induced, Jaw trauma
      Hi dj_newark,

Not sure about the insurance, sorry. Reading your symptoms it sounds like you may have pulsatile tinnitus; you may have already explored this but if not it's worth looking into it as it may be able to be treated if that's what it is.

Have a look here http://whooshers.com for some more info on it.

3. Karen
      Talkative

Karen Manager Staff Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2010
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      First time: Noise 2nd Time: Ototoxic drug
      dj_newark,