Maximising Hearing and Tinnitus Recovery from Bike Tyre Explosion

Discussion in 'Support' started by matt09, Jul 4, 2020.

1. matt09

matt09 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      last week
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      explosion
      Hi all,

I was unlucky enough to have a bike tyre explode next to my left ear last Tuesday (Tuesday 23 June). I've been left with significant hearing loss and tinnitus which has recovered marginally so far.

I did some reading online before seeking medical attention. This proved to be key as it took some persuasion to get a 14 day oral course of 60mg Prednisolone which I began 15 hours after the event. I weigh 87kg though so I am wondering if the dose was too small. I have been using a hearing test app every few days to check my recovery but I have not seen any improvement in the last 4-5 days. I have been seen by an ENT who confirmed my eardrum is intact but has a small scar.

I am an audio engineer so have always been hyper vigilant about my hearing. I am extremely worried and upset that this may be permanent, not least because of the effects on my work.

At the moment I am wearing an ear plug most of the day as it feels so uncomfortably unbalanced with the right ear for HF. I wanted to know if there was anything further I could do that could maximise my recovery?

Many thanks,
      Matt

2. Juan

Juan Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Several causes
      Hi Matt,

Actually there was another guy on the forum who had this very same experience a few months ago. Bike tyre explosion..

https://www.tinnitustalk.com/threads/tinnitus-from-a-bike-tire-explosion.37683/