Maybe Permanent Tinnitus — What Do I Do Now?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Egg, Jun 7, 2018.

1. Egg

Egg Member

Tinnitus Since:
      2/6/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic Trauma (Concert)
      Hi everybody,

I'm a university student in my third year out of five. I am very new to this site and in fact very new to tinnitus.
      As everybody may imagine, there are thousands of thoughts and questions in my mind right now. Last Saturday, about 5 days ago, I went to a very loud venue and was unknowingly standing next to the speakers for two and a half hours. I left the venue probably permanently damaged with a ringing that has not gone away for five days. I don't have a long history of very loud concerts at all. I have however used ear plugs in the past but have been careful about the volume. I am not a musician and normally am not exposed to very loud noises in my daily life.

It is much better now than that first morning and almost impossible to hear when I am outside or in the office where I am interning at. I have been prescribed steroids (Prednisolone 5mg three times a day) to use for a week but it seems like they haven't done much good so far except cause a lot of pressure in my left ear -- it constantly feels plugged now.

So apart from that brief introduction I wanted to ask you guys about coping. I know it is relatively early, but it seems to me that any ringing that doesn't get better within two days is going to be there for a while. Obviously much of my knowledge is gained from this site and I am sure there are as many cases of temporary tinnitus as there are permanent ones : I have just not been accessing them. So long story short, where does this leave me? My doctor said the ringing will go eventually and he was more so concerned with the hearing loss associated with it. So he kind of blew me off about the ringing issue.