Mild Tinnitus But Signs of Typewriter Tinnitus?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Jayvzr, Mar 11, 2021.

1. Jayvzr

Jayvzr Member

Tinnitus Since:
      04/19
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud noiae
      Evening,

I stumbled upon this forum while googling symptoms as doctors have been very unhelpful with COVID-19.

For many years I punished my ears with loud noises in work and leisure.
      I work in construction and for years never heeded the warnings given.
      As I didn't in my spare time and attended many loud concerts etc.

I flew home from a rave with a minor head cold and ears ringing. On the flight the ears popped and just didn't seem to un-pop , so I arranged a doctor's visit. After having my ears cleaned, a week or 2 later, they seemed to clear leaving me with a very slight ringing in my left ear, not enough to affect daily life whatsoever.

But since then have taken hearing much more seriously. I listen to podcasts etc at a low volume to drown out the day to day construction noise, and keep earplugs at hand all day.

Randomly my right ear has started to develop a tapping noise which at first was very infrequent.
      I first noticed it while using an electric toothbrush and heard this slight tapping when using the brush.

The tapping isn't there when there is silence, only in response to certain noise.

But in the last day or 2, it has gotten worse. Flushing a toilet and running a tap gives me a consistent tapping like morse code. Tin foil being rustled would set it off or like rustling a bag.
      It's not deafening but it's absolutely there.

Just wondering can anyone shed some light on a correct term? Or advice on treatments?

I have been told I'd be called back by a doctor twice but with COVID-19 it's hard to make any ground as I can't walk in.

Any help is much appreciated.
      J

2. one-light
      Sunshine

one-light Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus: