Music-Induced Tinnitus and Pyrotechnics

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Mister Muso, Jun 3, 2019.

1. Mister Muso
      No Mood

Mister Muso Member

Tinnitus Since:
      2011 / April 2019
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud music
      Hi,

Another music fan here, who has been "enjoying" music a little too much.

I've gone to rock concerts all my life - I'm 54 now, with a wife and two teenage children, and a pretty good job in IT. The first concert I went to which caused a problem was Genesis in 1982, when I had my right ear facing the biggest wall of speakers I've ever seen in my life. Ever since then I've had slightly reduced sensitivity in my right ear. I understand Phil Collins has had major issues with hearing loss lately too.

I kept going to concerts all through the 80s, some more pretty loud ones, though not too many at the Motorhead level - something told me I should stay away from the likes of them - but I only became concerned when I started playing in bands a lot in the 90s. Playing my keyboards next to a drummer with a rather large kit, I had my bad ear facing in his direction most nights. I played for two or three years like this with no protection, till eventually I realised I had to use a foam plug in my bad ear, as the dulling effect on my hearing was becoming more pronounced and lasting longer into the next couple of days.

So far so good - I felt I could handle things using earplugs and keep enjoying the music I loved. Until I experienced a pyrotechnic blast at a Rush concert that changed everything.

Being my favourite band, I had seen the Canadian rockers a number of times over the years, including twice in one week in 2004. After the second one, my hearing took a full month to return to normal, even though I had used earplugs for most of the two concerts. Still no tinnitus, and no other problems.