Musician with Mild Tinnitus Spiked to Unbearable Levels Recently

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by IbanezGuitarist, Jul 18, 2014.

1. IbanezGuitarist

IbanezGuitarist Member

Tinnitus Since:
      First, this is my first time posting here and this was originally posted on reddit, so if I'm not posting the right area,etc apologies.

Since around December of 2009 I had very low level tinnitus due to loud live music, and didn't use earplugs a lot at that point. Since that point, I've never been in loud situations without earplugs if possible. I continued to go to shows and play guitar in bands with ear plugs, limiting my exposure time to the loud music as well. Last year, I was in a band that played quite a few shows (as well as I went to a couple) during last summer, but used earplugs and was mostly fine from what I could tell.

Then this summer rolls around this year, I start a new general labour job where the noise levels aren't too bad so I wasn't wearing hearing protection. The other reason was there were machinery and dangerous places where hearing things were very important. About a month ago, there was a particularly noisy day which by the end my ears slightly hurt. Didn't think much of it until I went to bed and at 3AM I woke up to terrible ringing in my right ear, which none of my tinnitus had done before.

Eventually, it seemed to go away but after that I wore earplugs 24/7 at that place even in quieter areas. A few weeks later I had a band practice that was about 3 hours with a few breaks in between. Although I had earplugs of NRR 29db in the entire time, as soon as I finished I removed the earplugs and there was a loud ringing still. Again, seemed to go away later but scarred me and wished I had worn a set of headmuffs ontop.