Musician with Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Success Stories' started by stratman, May 4, 2018.

1. stratman

stratman Member

Tinnitus Since:
      jan 2016
      I'm a musician and have been for over 30 years. I've always had tinnitus but could only notice it in a dead quiet environment. One evening after awaking from a nap, my left ear was just roaring with tinnitus to the point I freaked out and went to the ER. This last year and a half has been a living hell for me with this tinnitus. It's so loud that I hear it above the TV and just about anything except taking a shower. After a year of depression and not playing anymore in fear of it getting even worse I took a huge chance, bought a good set of ear plugs and played in a band for an hour or so at the normal rock volume (which is loud).

To my complete surprise, the tinnitus volume is actually ALWAYS lower after playing. I have read a lot about sound therapy and tinnitus. For me, playing music is MY sound therapy. While the relief is temporary and lasts a couple days that is a significant success for me. Also, same exact results when around machines like lawn mowers, power washers etc... I have determined the key is wear ear plugs. I'm not smart enough to analyze the reason why but only that is works.

I summary, I strongly believe there is something to sound therapy and tinnitus. I just wanted to share my experience in finding relief while temporary and NOT a cure.

• Hug Hug x 2
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • Informative Informative x 1
    2. GregCA
      Jaded

GregCA Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Otosclerosis
      Actually I do find a similar type of temporary relief when I play my drums... perhaps the extra sensory input is helping calm down some spurious neural activity. I wish it was a bigger relief, both in terms of volume reduction (mine is minimal, albeit welcome) and duration (seems like a day at the max).

3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR