My Road to Understanding My (Probably) Somatic Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Orba, Oct 26, 2022.

1. Orba

Orba Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown/multifactor
      Dear Tinnitus Talk members,

I hope you are all doing great.

My name is "Orba", 33 years old.

I've developed tinnitus in 2021, at least that was the moment I really got aware of it.

I've set myself the goal to al least understand my tinnitus no later than 2022. Let's say I am still learning and it isn't easy to figure it out. I came to the point that there are no professionals around who can help or coach me further with this. That's why I would like to research more on the subject with the use of the forum. Below is my story, combined with hopefully some insights that might beneficial to some of you. It is quite a long story (and there is no short TL;DR version). I'm sorry for that, but it also helps me summarize everything and write down the questions that I'm still trying to figure out with the help of the forum.

My introduction might already give away that I am quite a control freak and furthermore that I can get quite obsessed with understanding something like i.e. tinnitus. I am still really thinking about how I should contribute to the forum. My first suggestion would be that one really should avoid getting obsessed with tinnitus. In the end a big part of your solution could be to sometimes let it just rest (at least from time to time) and stop researching the subject and try to just life the good things in life. Of course you would get better, but you have to find a balance in this.

The balance for me is that from time to time I try to work on solving the puzzle and at least understand more about how it all works. But man, there is a lot of information available and the possible causes and solutions are really endless.