My Story — A Partial Success Story

Discussion in 'Success Stories' started by Darien, Nov 26, 2015.

1. Darien

Darien Member

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2015
      Hi,

I thought of sharing my story to help some people (especially those who's condition might be similar to mine). I'm sure most people already know this stuff, but a partial success story doesn't hurt.

Suddenly, one morning, I woke up and had an out-of-nowhere terrible tinnitus in my left ear. The sound was completely crippling and my anxiety was through the roof. I really couldn't trace the T to any particular event of noise exposure (although being a musician I have had plenty of that also), and at that point I thought it was the only cause for tinnitus. For a while I could not cope with uni. or my social life. After a while of obsessing about tinnitus and educating myself with it, I observed that some people get tinnitus from stress, which seemed incredibly weird. When I gave my T more thought, it became clear that it was stress-induced, since I was going through a really stressful period in my life. At some point of the figuring-this-out process, I realized that actually I have had the tinnitus for as long as I can remember, but never did I think about it as T, but rather as the sound of silence (a nice relaxing jingling sound, if you will). The anxiety from stress just made me really hypersensitive and got me fixated on the sound, which had seemed to increase its volume. I seeked treatment for the anxiety, and the T sound lowered to some extent. However, I don't care about the sound not disappearing completely. Most importantly, I was no longer afraid of it. A sound once causing remarkable distress, was again just a sound, and I could go on with my life without thinking about it too much anymore, although sometimes I still do. The improvement is really drastic, since I was once so distracted that I was unable to watch TV-shows or listen to a conversation. I just hope things stay this way!