My Tinnitus Experience So Far

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Mike_S, Jun 20, 2017.

1. Mike_S

Mike_S Member

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hi there,

I'm new to tinnitus and would like to share my story so far, since yesterday I missed my first day of work because of it. So I would say that I've crossed the threshold of "it's fine, I can live with it" to "this is affecting things and I need to do something".

First of all, much love and respect to all of you living with this. It's a humdinger of a condition, no doubt about it. Seriously: you are amazing.

About me: I'm Irish, 44 and a father of four.

On April 25 2017, two months ago, in the middle of the night I got a 'flatline' sound in my right ear that was disruptive to my sleep. I've played in bands for years and have always been conscious of tinnitus and worn ear protection fairly assiduously for the last few years. However, I've felt for some years that my right ear feels different than the left ear - I unconsciously always place the phone receiver on my left, and the right ear feels "rawer". However I've never noticed any buzzing in my ears and also, I've hardly played in bands at all for the last year or more. I certainly hadn't been near a practice room in weeks. On the other hand, we had just gotten through what I would say was a very stressful time, family-wise, after a house swap, and intuitively I feel this is more likely the root cause, or at least significantly contributory. I have a history of mild-moderate anxiety and depression.