My Tinnitus Is Waking Me Up at Night

Discussion in 'Support' started by mrsgruffy, Aug 4, 2017.

1. mrsgruffy

mrsgruffy Member

Tinnitus Since:
      My tinnitus has got so loud in the last year, that it wakes me up several times a night.

I also have hearing loss which is getting worse. As my hearing loss gets worse, my tinnitus gets louder. I'm also very sensitive to noise.

I used to be able to mask my tinnitus with music at moderate volume, but now that my hearing has got worse, music sounds distorted at normal volume and I can't hear it at lower volume, and hurts me at a louder volume.

I find I can't wear headphones because the sounds are annoyingly distorted (bought cheap ones first and thought they were faulty, so invested in a good set and found it was the same.

I'm a student on a very limited income and I'm on the at least 12 months waiting list to be assessed for hearing aids. I take medication to help me get to sleep because the tinnitus drives me half crazy when I go to bed, and background noise disturbs me too much because of the distortion. So I think it's called hyperacusis - when some noise just makes you crazy or is physically painful.

I'm not sure what to do. I'm always aware of the tinnitus, and I'm quite frankly surprised that I'm not sitting in a corner, rocking and blowing raspberries. It amazes me that I have the resilience to try to carry on, but some days are very difficult, and I find I am becoming very depressed despite being on medication for depression.

I just don't know if I can take another year of this, and it's not even guaranteed if I will be able to tolerate hearing aids or even if they'll work for me, but I'm holding on to the hope that they will.

If anyone has any advice, I'll try really hard not to find a problem for every solution :)

• Hug Hug x 7
    2. Jack V

Jack V Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      1/2020