New Here and Glad to Not Be Alone

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Noa, Feb 20, 2016.

1. Noa

Noa Member

Hi everyone,

I'm Noa. I'm a teenager who hasn't had a lot of exposure to prolonged loud noises, but I do have tinnitus (I think). I don't have an official diagnosis, but I saw an ENT for the ringing in my ears and he thought a nightguard would help because I grind my teeth at night. I've been wearing the nightguard every night since I got it a few months ago and have seen no improvement. I actually think that it may have gotten worse. I keep hearing a high pitched static-y noise, like the sound of an old TV turning on. It's constant and I haven't gotten any relief. It gets worse when I am by electronics, especially those that are plugged in. I can actually hear the electricity flowing from the wall socket to my phone charger, and the noise the electricity makes changes depending on what charger I use. It's very irritating and is constant, I can't get any break from it! The only time I didn't hear it was when I took a hearing test at the ENT in a soundless room.

What's going is annoying, to say the least, but I'm glad I'm not alone in my struggle!

2. AnxiousJon
      Magical

AnxiousJon Member

Tinnitus Since:
      09/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Anxiety, Insomnia, and a Fan at Night
      Haha, yeah I've never had a problem with this until T/H/Ph issues.
      I have a cell phone charger I can't used on devices that are powered like my cell phone. I can use the same charger on my bluetooth keyboard if the keyboard is off. But if the keyboard is on, or i plug my cell phone in(which turns it on), the charger emits a nasty high pitch.