New Here

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by dmhead, Oct 18, 2013.

1. dmhead
      Cheerful

dmhead Member

Tinnitus Since:
      9/25/13
      I guess all the years of playing music has caught up with me. It's a shame too, because I was pretty responsible when it came to rehearsing and playing live -- I consistently used -20db earplugs. I gather it just took a few times without them to cause my tinnitus in my right ear. Right now, I guess I am in the stage of "My life is over", and I have sunk to the depths of despair many times.

While music isn't the way I make my living. It is my life. It is my joy. It is what gives me purpose. To stop playing it would be to stop living. It's what reduces the stress in my life, so it has to be a good thing. I cannot let this T defeat me.

I need support though. I hate to admit it, but I need it. When I think about it rationally, my T is very mild 80-90% of the time. Unfortunately, I'm an emotional person (probably why I am an artist).

The timing of this couldn't be worse lol, I leave for a European tour in 15 days!

I just don't know what to do.

2. gary
      Transparent

gary Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2012
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Who Knows
      Hi, T has no preference, it strikes all ages, race, sex. You are very lucky you have low T 80-90% of the time.

We all hit that my life is over feeling. You gotta pick yourself up and make that European tour, or are you going to will let T beat you? You do know you will regret not making that tour. If it hard on you, then it's hard on you. you will gain strength as you do more....

• Agree Agree x 1
    3. gary
      Transparent

gary Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2012
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Who Knows
      I just saw you have only had T for a month or so. I may only be temporary. Get to an ENT if can before the tour.
      start reading others stories. Remember dmhead you are not alone, we welcome you with open arms....