New Strategy Really Worked For My Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Success Stories' started by ClassicalPiano, Apr 5, 2020.

1. ClassicalPiano

ClassicalPiano Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Music
      Hello everyone,

I'd like to start by saying I have a little less time than I had initially planned to make this post, so I hope you will bear with me.

I believe in my experience with tinnitus I have come across something that I think may be very helpful to others experiencing it, as this method has been with me.

I don't have any science to back up my ideas here beyond my own personal success, which is essentially eliminating, in a very short period of time, my newly intrusive tinnitus.

A little bit of background:

I am a musician who plays classical concert piano.

Over the years I've had experience with minor tinnitus that I have always been able to clear up either by listening to the details in the tinnitus sounds themselves, or occasionally using a relief sound (crickets, waves, etc.)

Recently I began working on a piece of music that is much louder and more consistently so than my general music.

About a week ago I practiced the loudest section for an extend period of time (~45m), probably 95dB + or -

I believe I suffered an acoustic shock from this experience. My ears began to hurt, I had a slight headache, and I developed moderate hyperacusis, as well as a general feeling of physical weakness, the kind you get after having been through a physical trauma.

I decided to take the next few days off from piano and do something about the volume of my piano. A few days after this although the hyperacusis had diminished and my ears seemed better physically, I had my first experience with *intrusive* tinnitus.

Loud, aggressive, and extremely unpleasant buzzing in my ears. Could no longer hear air vents, significant physical stress response, so on and so forth. I'm sure many of you are unfortunately familiar with this terrible experience.