New to Tinnitus — Started After a Loud Concert — Been Going on for 5 Days Now

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Brandon1994, Nov 1, 2018.

1. Brandon1994

Brandon1994 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud Noise Exposure
      Hello my name is Brandon, I'm 24 years old and I'm new to tinnitus. I have several questions.

I was at a concert, it was pretty loud, and when we left I noticed ringing in my ears. This has gone on for 5 days.

Now I'm very very scared I ruined my hearing for life.

Anyways I went to an ENT doctor and they preformed a hearing test and I did great until I believe 4,000 Hz and higher, that's when I didn't do good.

I believe that's the same frequency as my tinnitus.

I was wondering if my tinnitus did go away with a miracle would that hearing improve or is it gone for good.

And is that why I'm having my tinnitus because I'll never hear that frequency again? Also I know it's very hard to say but is there a chance it could go away and I just wouldn't hear that frequency?

• Hug Hug x 1
    2. Bill Bauer
      No Mood

Bill Bauer Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      February, 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic Trauma
      • Agree Agree x 2
    3. Contrast
      No Mood

Contrast Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      late 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      noise injury
      The truth is you are currently screwed as am I, mammalian hearing does not naturally restore well, only to a mediocre extent.

Get a predisone steroid, take magnesium, b-12 and melatonin and you may be fortunate enough to get the best out of the mediocre recovery.

However the only real way out of this mess is bio-medical research advancing, an active clinical trial to reverse hearing loss is happening now and reversing hearing loss should also reverse tinnitus.

Even if tinnitus fades, you will always have the hearing loss and a chance of it coming back due to the brain knowing their as a gap in your hearing.