New to Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by PeterPan, Sep 25, 2016.

1. PeterPan
      Nerdy

PeterPan Member Advocate

Tinnitus Since:
      09/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Heat Exhaustion
      Hello,
      I am new to Tinnitus and was hoping I might get some help from other members of the forum.
      I am 54, and had it for 3 weeks now.
      I think I got it through heat exhaustion. I was training for some upcoming holiday mountain climbing in a hot humid environment and think I overdid it. On the way down from the mountain (a 900m peak) i became dizzy and experienced ringing in the ears for about 30 mins to an hour. Then 2 weeks later I got Tinnitus.
      Anyway, no use crying over spilt milk!
      For the three weeks I have had it:
      First week: At work. 24 x 7 Tinnitus, although varying in intensity.
      Second Week: Went on the holidays in a foreign (exotic!) country. The first day I was there, and 6 hours after arriving, T disappeared for 36 hours. When I say disappeared, I mean I didn't hear it at all. Over the 7 days of holidays, I didn't have it for about 50% of the time, and when I did, it was lower intensity.
      Third Week: At work. Disappeared for 2 days out of 5.

I am wondering if the initial patterns of T are indicative of the ongoing patterns? And if the pattern of it completely disappearing for some days is common? And if the reason for the improved state while on holidays would be either less stress, or my brain being too interested in other things to worry about generating Tinnitus noises! And if anyone else has experienced similar results. Also, if anyone has found changing their lifestyle radically has helped with T. I am thinking of retiring soon, and traveling regularly might be on the agenda (and given the above, may help).