Newbie here!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Richie, Oct 8, 2012.

1. Richie

Richie Member

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2012
      Hi everyone!

So after the last 9 weeks, which have seemed like the longest and worst of my life, I stumbled on this forum. It's great by the way!

9 weeks ago I was cleaning my ear with a cotton bud (I know, I know) I was distracted momentarily and I went to grab something from a shelf above my head. In the process I struck the cotton bud with the inside of my forearm and it went deep into my ear. I perforated the eardrum (according to the ENT the hole was 1/3 the size of the whole eardrum). The force of the impact knocked me to the ground and the tinnitus was there immediately. The eardrum was patched and after about 5 weeks the hole closed. I had a CT scan because of the pain. It showed damage to the middle and inner ear (fluid/swelling). But fortunately no damage to the bones. I have lost some hearing from 3 kHz and upwards.

But I guess as is common with most of you, I could live with the hearing loss but not the tinnitus.

I've tried masking which is useless as I need my iPod on really loud. I've tried acupuncture (4 sessions so far), Chinese herbs, hypnotherapy and even a spiritual healer. I've just started TRT as well.

I know it's early on (it only happened 9 weeks ago) but I am going crazy. My T is so loud and constant from the moment I wake to the moment I get to sleep). It's affecting my work (small, quiet office) and, worse still, my marriage. It's the only topic of conversation in my house.

Does anyone have a similar experience to me? I keep clinging on to the hope that once the ear mends properly the tinnitus will stop. But I'm starting to feel like the ear has nearly mended. It no longer feels as 'blocked' as it did. So I'm scared that I'm going to be left with the tinnitus forever.

I look forward (I think!) to hearing what you guys have to say. Thanks!

2. Cookie

Cookie Member

Tinnitus Since:
      09/11