Newbie Looking for Help

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by melfreeman08, Apr 17, 2015.

1. melfreeman08
      Blah

melfreeman08 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      3/26/2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Sinus Infection
      Hi. I am a newbie. Prior to being a newbie, I was a healthy active, married, happy girl who just finished building her dream home and was looking forward to a trip to Germany in May, and my life was great! All of that changed when 3 weeks ago when I developed a severe head cold, my cat died and our house alarm blared for 10 seconds (with me standing in front of it). All of that combined has left me with epsiodes of vertigo, ear pain & fullness, and of course the T. Everything comes and goes except for the T. Mine sounds like a low volume hissing/static sound in both ears (with occasional episodes of high pitched T). Needless to say the past 3 weeks have been the most excruciating and the most amount of suffering I have ever experienced in my 31 years. :( I never even knew about T!

At first onset I began the trips to my doctor. (Flonase and Claritin for some fluid in left ear). Basic hearing test (totally normal). Gave me Xanax for the anxiety.
      Saw the ENT next. He gave me lipoflavanoids, told me to live with it and scheduled my MRI and advanced hearing test for next Monday (April 20th). :(

I'm devastated. The anxiety that surrounds this is unbearable. I am depressed and I just want my normal life back. Any advice anyone has would be appreciated. Could mine resolve on it's own? When will I know if it's permanent? Should I cancel my trip? Should I sign up for a clinical trial? Should I give up my lovely Friday night glass of vino? I need advice, direction, and clarity. So happy to have found this place to come too.

2. attheedgeofscience
      No Mood

attheedgeofscience Member Podcast Patron Mighty Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Resolved since 2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown (medication, head injury)