Noise-Induced Tinnitus from Working at an F1 Arcade

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by John Busco, May 21, 2024.

1. John Busco

John Busco Member

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2024
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Exposure to loud club music 10h a shift
      Hi,

I’m very sad to be on a forum like this when all I wanted to do was work part-time, pay my bills, and focus on my business, only to now pick up a new problem.

I’ve been a music producer for six years, and my ears used to hurt quite a bit and are quite sensitive, but I’d never get ringing in my ears for longer than 10 minutes, 20 max!

I also stopped going to clubs and being around really loud sounds, and the pain stopped. I was eventually able to tolerate harsh sounds like cutlery clashing and other things. I never experienced ringing for more than 20 minutes, just pain and perceived hearing loss, although my hearing was actually fine according to the audiologist.

Two years later, I picked up a part-time job in an F1 arcade where the simulators are too loud, making a crazy amount of noise. The engine from the cars just roars in your ears, coupled with the loud club music from the venue and the packed background chatter. There’s just so much going on!

My ears would hurt from such exposure, and these shifts would be 9-10 hours, three days a week, sometimes three days in a row, so very little rest time in between.

After six weeks of working there, I got ringing in my ears last Thursday (16th May), and it lasted all night, which was scary because I’d never experienced that before. The DJ that night increased the volume extremely loudly. I was quite upset that I had to work the next day because my ears were still ringing, yet I had to take in 10 hours of loud music and F1 simulators again. Even though I put my earplugs in, my ears were already blown and violated.