Noise-Induced Tinnitus Was Actually Stress-Induced Tinnitus — Fluoxetine Made It Vanish

Discussion in 'Success Stories' started by Aubeebee, Sep 15, 2022.

1. Aubeebee
      Nerdy

Aubeebee Member

Tinnitus Since:
      08/22
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Concerts and stress
      STRESS

If you have been struggling with random tinnitus onset and are not sure where it came from, I'd love to tell you my story. If you have tinnitus due to some other condition that has been given to you by a doctor, I'm so sorry that you have to suffer that way. It's truly not an enjoyable experience and I don't wish it on anyone.

I'm a musician and a DJ and am usually pretty good about wearing earplugs, but lately, I've been off my game. I went to a loud rock show and played a gig in a pretty short succession of one another. The tinnitus was not there right after the gig, and then WHAM. Two days later I got whacked with the loudest tinnitus I'd ever experienced. It was persistent for over a month and I was beginning to feel hopeless.

I tried acupuncture and Chinese herb supplements, craniosacral therapy, etc. while waiting for an ENT appointment. It temporarily reduced the symptoms of tinnitus but it always came rushing back. It was also weird because the tinnitus was bouncing from ear to ear, sometimes on the left and sometimes on the right, sometimes in both. I would plug my ears to see where it was coming from (don't do this by the way).

I finally got in to see my ENT and he took a look around. Nothing wrong with my ears, hearing, throat, or nose. Then what could it be? Surely I had screwed up my hearing otherwise why was I hearing noises in my head. On this note, IF your tinnitus is bouncing around from side to side, ear to ear, or both -- this is a good sign! It means it's probably not due to hearing loss and more of a brain thing.