Not Coping at All

Discussion in 'Support' started by Tim Hogan, Nov 22, 2016.

1. Tim Hogan
      No Mood

Tim Hogan Member

Tinnitus Since:
      June 2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Cold/Flu (Minor) >>> Botched Acoustic Reflex Test (Severe)
      Its been 6 Months now and im not coping at all, every day is pure torture.

I really don't want to kill myself because there is a lot of potential in my life , but its being ruined by this relentless noise in my head, every month im leaning towards the final solution.

They say suicide is when pain outweighs coping options, and with no coping options suicide is weighing heavily on the mind.

Im in my final year at university and ontop of trying to stay sane i have loads of work bearing down on me, i find it hard enough to just get through the day let alone do work, and whats frustrating is that its work i would enjoy doing if i didn't have Tinnitus.

Regardless of what seems like an average amount sleep i am always exhausted.

With no sign of treatment in the near future i don't know how much longer i can take.

My family tell me to see another ENT but i tell them its pointless and they wont do anything.

Im heavily against drugs because they just ruin you in the long run, and i couldn't bare it getting any worse from a bad side effect.

CBT or TRT wont work, my Tinnitus is far too intrusive for these to have any effect. The equivalent of someone trying to tell you not to feel pain and have a positive state of mind whilst your arm is being sawed off.

Masking is impossible for 2 reasons.

1. Its reactive so any noise, the Tinnitus will fight against it and become louder.

2. Its non-tonal, a sharp, ear piercing hiss that fluctuates and fills the entire left side of my head, cant find anything to match it.

Getting an MRI is pointless because it was caused by an Acoustic Reflex Test. It didn't come out of the blue.

Every other "Treatment" is insanely expensive or a scam.