Reactions from Employer/Manager About Tinnitus/Hyperacusis?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Lilah, Sep 22, 2022.

1. Lilah
      Mellow

Lilah Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      I am planning to ask my employer soon about changing my job to full-time remote position, and may list tinnitus/sound sensitivity issues as one of my reasons. I have been working remotely since the pandemic and we are now being asked to go back to the office. Has anyone here done this, and what was your employer's reaction? I am not fully sure yet if I will list this reason since it is personal and different layers of management will see my request.

I told my manager once at onset about my tinnitus and I don't think he took it too seriously. I am slightly hopeful now since my request will go through several layers of management. I have several reasons for going remote, and tinnitus/sound distortion issues is one of them. My major issue is having to take the metro (train) which is loud on a regular basis, plus wearing headphones at my desk for Zoom meetings (to include people who are teleworking on that day). When I am exposed to loud noise I sometimes have sound sensitivity/distortion issues which last for some days after.

If anyone can think of a convincing argument, please post away.

2. ZFire
      Pacman

ZFire Member Podcast Patron Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame Advocate

Tinnitus Since:
      2012 (mild) & 04/2021 (severe)
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Ototoxicity (2012) Unknown-likely noise induce (2021)
      You’ve been with the same employer for a while now, just tell them what you think. Express your concern and let them know you prefer to stay remote full-time because it has boosted your work productivity ten fold. You have good experience now also.

• Like Like x 1
    3. dayma
      Pacman

dayma Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      1/6/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      UNKNOWN