Reactive Tinnitus Vs. Hyperacusis: Treatment Crossroads

Discussion in 'Support' started by Chronumbra, Feb 14, 2023.

1. Chronumbra
      Scared

Chronumbra Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Music production, headphones
      Hello! I am a 26-year-old music producer. I have had tinnitus since sometime in 2020, it was so quiet it didn't bother me.

On 1/1/2023, I had a temporary threshold shift while producing music. The threshold shift subsided the next day, but it came with a louder and reactive form of tinnitus. This tinnitus seems to amp up with external noise input.

A week after onset, I had become so stressed about it that I fainted and was taken to the ER, where they claimed to have found fluid behind my eardrums. I was treated for an Ear Infection. While I didn't have any obvious symptoms, I did notice some infected congestion come up.

I continued to stress into the following week, until I ended up with neurological symptoms resembling a stroke. These symptoms subsided once I got my anxiety under control. The next week, I saw an ENT who confirmed only very mild hearing loss in the upper frequencies, but not enough to be concerned about.

Since then, my tinnitus has remained reactive. I started trying pink noise therapy which seems to have helped reduce the reactivity over the past couple of weeks. I am now noticing a sensitivity to sounds, mainly those very present in the 1.7 kHz - 2.5 kHz range. This became more noticeable in the past two days.

I don't know if this is hyperacusis or not, because I don't have pain (yet).

I want to prevent this from developing further, but the information on how to do that seems to be conflicting.

On the one hand, pink noise therapy is going to be the best thing for me whereas overprotecting my ears will be what brings on sound sensitivity.