Safe to Go to a Bowling Alley? What Earplugs to Wear?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Brandon1994, Mar 3, 2019.

1. Brandon1994

Brandon1994 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud Noise Exposure
      I was thinking about going to a bowling alley with my friends this coming Saturday. My tinnitus has been OK at times. My last spike lasted around 2 weeks and I'm not sure what caused it but right now it went back down the baseline which I'm coping with.

I've had tinnitus for around 5 months so I'm fairly new to it all.

My question is that is it safe to go to the bowling alley? I don't want tinnitus controlling my life. I just don't want to make it worse. I have earplugs that I use.

I was thinking about getting some earplugs that allow me to hear people speaking and drown the background noise out.

What are the best earplugs you guys know of that allow that? I believe they are called musician's ear plugs.

2. Bill Bauer
      No Mood

Bill Bauer Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      February, 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic Trauma
      It depends on how you define the word "safe." If what you are asking is "is there a chance that I will get a serious spike", then the answer is Yes.

In certain light it is safe in the sense that most likely you will be ok. But the chance that you will regret going is not negligible.

My rule of thumb is "if you have to ask whether it is safe, it is not safe." For me, since the upside is just a couple of hours and the possible downside (albeit with a low probability) can last a lifetime, it doesn't make sense to take any chances with this.

• Agree Agree x 1
      • Winner Winner x 1
    3. kmohoruk
      Nerdy

kmohoruk Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2005
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud Noise, Ear Infection, TMJ
      You'll be fine. I've been bowling many times with my partner and had no issues.