Sleeping/Anxiety Issues

Discussion in 'Support' started by HeidiB, Apr 25, 2018.

1. HeidiB

HeidiB Member

Tinnitus Since:
      March
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      TMJ/mild hearing loss
      Good morning,
      I’m new to this experience. 7 weeks in today of it being ON all the time. Initially it was at night. I think mine is caused by stress. As I had an unreal amount of it when this began. I’ve read so many things about sleep.

Like everyone else I’m scared to take anything that is Ototoxic. Yet it seems pretty much everything is! Sometimes I think my anxiety about sleeping is what’s actually keeping up more than the ringing in my ear.

What have people been doing lately to sleep? Masking doesn’t work. I seem to always find the noise! Thanks so much....

• Hug Hug x 1
    2. Pleasure_Paulie

Pleasure_Paulie Member

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise or maybe... unicorns!
      Not everything is ototoxic; infact very few are considered medically. Otoxicity is when a medication can cause physical damage to the ears causing hearing loss. Some drugs can cause temporary spikes which often subsides as a result of discontinuation. Other times it’s a cocincidence due to how common tinnitus is and how commonly used some medications are prescribed. There is no definite rule as tinnitus it so complex.
      Keep playing around with different apps and try to find your tinnitus frequency as that often helps u pinpoint how to mask it.
      Melatonin, passionflower etc are often natural substances that can help you sleep.

But don’t despair, what you’re experiencing is all very normal and things will improve!

I really suggest talking with your doctor if you’re struggling.

3. GregCA
      Jaded

GregCA Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Otosclerosis
      • Informative Informative x 1
    4. Wolfears

Wolfears Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Jan 20/2018