Spike After Playing Piano — Permanent or Temporary?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Allan1967, Oct 21, 2018.

1. Allan1967

Allan1967 Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Ear infection
      Hi

New to the forum but not new to tinnitus.

Long story short... I got tinnitus after an ear infection picked up at a hospital where I had grommets inserted back in 1997. After all the despair I finally habituated and have managed to live with this high pitched whine in my right ear/ middle head.

Two and a half weeks ago I played an acoustic piano (I'm an amateur) and the following morning I woke up and my 'normal' tinnitus was much louder and I also had a secondary noise like faint wind chimes. It hasn't let up since then and needless to say I'm worried this is my new permanent baseline.

Noise induced spikes - do they calm down, if so after how long? Has anyone else had a similar experience and did it settle back down again and if so how did it take?

• Hug Hug x 1
    2. robHing

robHing Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Usually, giving some time, the spike will calm down.
      I hope that you don't play acoustic piano too long.
      Otherwise, it will take longer time.

3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      Allan1967

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Ear infection
      Thank you.

Still love to hear others opinions or experiences.

4. Contrast
      No Mood

Contrast Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      late 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      noise injury
      usually tinnitus only worsens permanently is if hearing loss worsens or develops TMD, or low GABA levels.

5. lucy_snow

lucy_snow Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      hearing loss/ibuprofen
      @Contrast What is TMD? How do you know your GABA levels?

• Good Question Good Question x 1
    6. Jack Straw
      Balanced