Studying with Tinnitus — Am I Ready for a PhD Degree? Can Tinnitus Distract from Studying?

Discussion in 'Support' started by zhiyuan, Jun 23, 2019.

1. zhiyuan
      Depressed

zhiyuan Member Podcast Patron Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2019
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      sudden hearing loss
      Hello everyone,

I am a year 4 college student and got sudden hearing loss with tinnitus this March. I went to ENT and got treatment for my hearing loss. My hearing improved a lot but my tinnitus still exists now.

Actually I plan to earn PhD degree in CS this Sept. but I am really confused about my study because of the tinnitus. I haven't got used to my tinnitus now, sometimes it still distracts me from studying.

I don't know whether my tinnitus will become milder or I can get used to it when studying. I don't know if PhD is a good choice for me, maybe I should take a Master's first because it seems easier?

I wonder does anyone with tinnitus still study well in university?

2. M.K.
      Bookworm

M.K. Member

Tinnitus Since:
      02/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Somatosensory

Hey, I’m in graduate school for my Masters degree in a very demanding healthcare field program. My T started halfway though the program (around the same time yours did) and what I did is I let the professors know what is going on and they have been really understanding. I am managing well in school and using it is a positive distraction. Try find places to study where your T isn’t as noticeable. For example, I study under one of the vents in the library that helps mask my T. Sometimes I read my lessons out loud when I’m at home and I’m having trouble concentrating. You can do it!

• Like Like x 2
      • Helpful Helpful x 1
    3. Yugal Rai
      Dreaming

Yugal Rai Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus: