Such a Maddening Malady...

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Hadassah, Apr 29, 2017.

1. Hadassah
      Bookworm

Hadassah Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hello - I'm a 54 yo woman and am new to this support group.

I've suffered with tinnitus since last summer (2016) and it has continually gotten worse.

I've gotten hearing aids which create another frequency to help reduce the intensity of the tinnitus and it has helped some, but I'm still struggling with it. In speaking with others who have tinnitus, it seems like mine may be louder and more problematic than theirs, so I guess it varies in intensity and frequency.

Mine sounds like screaming locusts all the time ... very difficult and now interfering with my sleep.

I'm a licensed professional counselor, and am using Cognitive Behavioral Therapy techniques to help alleviate the sense of panic/anxiety I sometimes feel. It is frequently helpful, but not always. I know I need to be diligent in implementing the techniques ... replacing thoughts that lead to anxiety, using positive self-talk, and focusing on things within my control.

I thank you for any suggestions or encouragement.

• Hug Hug x 2
      • Like Like x 1
    2. James
      No Mood

James Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Pulsing 03/2013
      Hi @Hadassah

I like what you said. I agree, it is madding. My also screams! People that don't go thru this, I’m not sure they understand how bad T can be. Anyway I was accused of negative thinking lately in my personal relationships along with a period of high anxiety. Yes, I'm going to the doctor. And you say thoughts can lead to anxiety, see I can learn something. Welcome to the forum, thanks for sharing.

• Like Like x 1
    3. bSiDeQuiEtWaTeRS
      Buzzed

bSiDeQuiEtWaTeRS Member

Tinnitus Since:
      4/1997
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      soundwaves, transformers, vibrations, sirens, decibels, life