Tinnitus After a Single Exposure to a High-Frequency Sound in an Online Hearing Test

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Bruno Silva, Aug 9, 2022.

1. Bruno Silva

Bruno Silva Member

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2022
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic trauma
      Hello, everyone. This is my first time here. My name is Bruno.

I've had tinnitus since 2022/07/21 (18 days ago) after doing an online hearing test using my tablet (please, don't do the test):

YouTube channel: Bright Side
      Video: "Cool Hearing Test: Are You a Superhuman?"

I hear a continuous loud noise (24/7) in the back of my head and inside my left ear. I can't sleep anymore.

Is there anyone here with the same experience? I'm so afraid it could be permanent damage.

My audiometry test is normal (file attached).

Any advice for me? I am desperate.

Thank you.

(Sorry for any mistakes, English is not my native language).

audiometry.jpg

• Hug Hug x 1
    2. Stuart-T
      Thinking

Stuart-T Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      02/2022
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Ear wax or COVID-19 infection
      I don't understand how online tests work compared with a proper audiogram with an audiologist. How do they test what the dB level is when they are playing the beeps?

Sorry about your problem - hopefully it will clear. May be just temporary.

• Like Like x 1
    3. Michael Leigh

Michael Leigh Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      04/1996
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced
      Hi @Bruno Silva.

Tinnitus can be caused by a single exposure to loud noise as in your case. The risk increases if a person regularly listens to audio through any type of headphones including earbuds, AirPods, headsets, noise cancelling and bone conduction headphones. The reason being people are not usually aware they are listening to audio through these devices at too high a volume.