Tinnitus After Severe Noise Injury (Woman Screaming at the Top of Her Lungs Close to My Ears)

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by J.P., Sep 27, 2020.

1. J.P.

J.P. Member

Tinnitus Since:
      09/2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise injury
      I'm a nurse who was recently involved with restraining a violent patient. The woman was screaming at the top of her lungs and my ear was close to her mouth for above five minutes during this episode. This happened five days ago and my ears have been ringing loudly ever since. If anything the ringing seems to be getting louder each day. This is terrifying for me. I haven't been able to sleep well and the ringing is constant from the moment I wake up. Tinnitus was not an issue for me previously and I'm scared that this is permanent.

Women's screams can be >120 decibels and I had never encountered a noise this loud before. My ear was in pain during the episode.

I've never felt so anxious/depressed in my life about anything. How likely is it that this is permanent? Is there anything I should do now? I'm terrified that my life has been irreversibly altered for the worse by this.

• Hug Hug x 9
    2. 100Hz
      No Mood

100Hz Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise exposure
      As it's recent I'd see a doctor about getting you onto a course of prednisone ASAP. And get yourself into a quiet environment for a while as any more noise, especially loud noise could make it worse. Be careful what hearing tests they suggest, I'd not even bother with hearing tests at this stage but do get the prednisone. Best of luck, I don't know what else to suggest but you should get some more suggestions on here.

• Like Like x 1
    3. Pitseleh

Pitseleh Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      First thing you should do is go the the ER and get a course of Prednisone ASAP, like now.

5 days is still early in the game, but don't wait.

4. Greg Sacramento