Tinnitus After Switching to a Generic Version of Wellbutrin (Bupropion)

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by CassandraT, Nov 13, 2020.

1. CassandraT

CassandraT Member

Tinnitus Since:
      august 2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Wellbutrin(bupropion) ototoxicity
      Hello :) I am Cassandra. I am an aspiring musician and practicing music all through quarantine and I was also working at a law firm before COVID-19 layoffs occurred. I was on Wellbutrin for almost a year with no problems (no prior hearing issues or tinnitus) then my pharmacy changed manufacturers and the Wellbutrin I was taking was no longer the name brand. Instead, the generic form Bupropion.

Within a week of taking the generic form, there was ringing that never stopped even after I immediately stopped the antidepressant. Then I went back to a depressive state of mind that I was in before I started the antidepressant. My doctor told me that the tinnitus probably wasn't caused by the Bupropion because he had "never" heard of anyone who was on that getting tinnitus. So I briefly went back on it thinking the cause was something else. After a week, it felt like it got even worse with some pulsatory symptoms so I stopped the Bupropion again and this time for good.

I have been taking many supplements and being more cautious and it still hasn't gone away even after about 2 months off of Bupropion and any antidepressant in general.

I'm wondering how long it might take to go away, whether it be months or years?

Anyway thanks for listening. Looking forward to hearing any thoughts or feedback :)

2. Luman
      Benevolent

Luman Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Intermittent Tinnitus probably noise induced