Tinnitus and Mild Hyperacusis After 3-4 Seconds Loud Noise Exposure (Accidental Audio Feedback)

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Brandon Wong, Oct 5, 2021.

1. Brandon Wong

Brandon Wong Member

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2021
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud Noise Exposure
      Hi all,

Like everyone who has come to this forum for answers, I have gone through all threads that are relevant to my condition. This is gonna be a long read.

I'm a musician and a sound engineer, age 43. I recently shifted my studio setup (two months ago) and had an accidental audio feedback in my extended range and high powered audio system that took me a while to kill the speakers, about 3-4 seconds. My tinnitus happened two days later when I was sitting in my room and realised I could hear a faint eeee (1/10) on my right year, and then a higher pitch, an octave up, on my left. After searching through the web, I thought I will just give it a day or two for it to come down. I still joking tell my wife I could hear higher than before after doing some online hearing test and told her the crickets irritates me as I can hear higher (I didn't realise this was the start of hyperacusis or recruitment to certain frequencies.) Tinnitus obviously didn't come down but I couldn't cancel my gigs and recording session... so as usual I continued with it for about two weeks. After two weeks and a more intense session with wearing headphones for about 3 hours a day, 2-3 consecutive days, I did realise the sound was a little different (probably 1.5/10). I started panicking after this and very quickly fall into depression and lots of negative thoughts. I can't continue music anymore which is my life's work.