Tinnitus and Sleep

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by RH2017, Feb 23, 2018.

1. RH2017

RH2017 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hi. This is my first time posting to the forum although I've definitely appreciated all the great information that folks share. I first noticed my tinnitus in 2014 and when I went to an ENT was told it was likely do to moderate high frequency hearing loss. For the most part I'm able to ignore my tinnitus during the day, but it has severely disrupted my ability to sleep. I fall asleep fine (usually very exhausted) but then wake up around 0200 - 0300. I've tried the range or treatments, medications, etc, but nothing seems to help very much. I've also seen multiple doctors again with very little results. I've had a sleep study and was told I had apnea so I tried the CPAP machine, hoping that somehow the apnea was linked to the tinnitus but noticed very little change. It's like I have an alarm clock in my left ear. I try to remain positive and I have a very supportive wife, but living without adequate sleep is taking its toll, both mentally and physically.

I would welcome any suggestions on possible treatments that might help with the sleep issue.

Thanks

2. Bill Bauer
      No Mood

Bill Bauer Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      February, 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic Trauma
      Have you tried amitriptyline? What about melatonin?

3. Robert44

Robert44 Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      April 2015
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      loud concert
      Hi, My T used to wake me up screaming in the middle of the night but that has stopped. Don't know why... I do sleep with a "noise machine" or a device that makes white noise. This helps. I use it every night. I also started taking 5 mg of amitriptyline at nighttime. This has helped with waking up with headaches. This has been really great on reducing the headaches and hasn't affected my T.

4. foliefortuna