Tinnitus Changed My Life

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by WildMan, Sep 10, 2016.

1. WildMan

WildMan Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Beginning of 2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic trauma.
      I developed my T through years of concerts, gaming headphones and guns. I did wear ear plugs at the firing range but I believe they were inadequate.

I used to work as a Wilderness Ranger and earlier this year I developed Tinnitus and it just about floored me. Being a Wilderness Ranger, I had to live out doors (camping) for the Forest Service and for about a month my T was getting worse, I have no idea what it was. I never realized how quiet it got outdoors day/night until the only thing I was hearing was a loud ringing in my ears. Then it dawned on me, I would never be able to fully enjoy solitude again, being able to enjoy just hearing the sounds of nature. Sleeping became a problem. I was awake for most of the nights walking around at like 2 in the morning trying to find a way to sleep.

I even went as far as putting my tent by a river to help drown out the T. For some reason that didn't work, my ears were very sensitive to noise at this point (not so much anymore). I even went to a water fall and it felt like the sound of the water splashing defended my ears, they felt full when I left the area after patrolling it. I ended up resigning from my job, I couldn't sleep and the job was becoming extremely stressful, having to wake up in the morning to do physically strenuous work, being very tired with my ears blaring . I couldn't handle it for some reason, it had been going on for months.

I kind of regret leaving but I needed to find a way to manage this I think I have but I still don't know how to manage it in a primitive environment with out technology to help me go to sleep (red/white noise). I could always go back but I just don't want to have another bad experience.

• Hug Hug x 3
    2. Matty S

Matty S Member

Tinnitus Since: