Tinnitus, Cochlear Hydrops, Pitch Distortions: Please Chime in with Your Thoughts

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Nick23, Aug 23, 2023.

?

If you've had cochlear hydrops, did your hearing eventually return?

1. Yes, partially

2. Yes, fully

3. No, but stabilized

4. No, and it continues to decline

5. I haven't had cochlear hydrops

Results are only viewable after voting.
    1. Nick23

Nick23 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2023
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hi everyone,

I've been dealing with what started as a mild hearing loss in the higher frequencies back in April this year that has developed into further and more serious issues.

I did a round of oral Prednisone which helped a great deal but not 100%. Me being a musician, I wanted the hearing to be perfect. I opted for 5 Dexamethasone injections and by the last one I felt like there was no benefit and in fact subsequently my hearing has taken many turns for the worse.

I haven't posted too much on Tinnitus Talk but I look at it often in hopes (like many of us) that someone has a similar story who could share insight. *** I have searched the internet for a case like mine where, I feel like the steroid injections are what have caused further complications ***. I can't verify this obviously, but my unaffected right ear WAS 100% perfect. About 3-4 weeks after the last injection my right ear started to subjectively decline and has declined further since then for apparently no reason. After the 4th injection I had a hearing test which showed a new loss in the low frequencies in the original affected ear (left). The ENT just said "oh, well maybe you have Meniere's". I feel like the injection caused a trauma which led to this complication.