Tinnitus for Almost 4 Months After Cold

Discussion in 'Support' started by E. B., Jul 24, 2019.

1. E. B.
      Pensive

E. B. Member

Tinnitus Since:
      4/2019
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Sinus infection, eustachian tube problems (likely)
      Dear forum,

I have been hearing a loud, high-pitched ringing in my ears for the past 4 months after the onset of a cold with mild symptoms. I will cover some information for a background from my previous post in order to elaborate on what I have been experiencing over the months following.

Initially, when I went to bed in early April, I started hearing a high-pitched sound in my left ear when the left side of my nose was clogged. After a week or two, I still heard my tinnitus even when my nose wasn't far too clogged, and eventually, the ringing became a slight annoyance in my everyday life, especially in a quiet environment. Keep in mind that both ears have been affected since then. Furthermore, I experience very loud tinnitus when there is a lot of noise in one ear, as the other ear (which is covered by my hand or arm) experiences extremely loud tinnitus. I have also been noticing ear pressure in the ear/ears that I have been experiencing tinnitus, as this ear pressure is only really noticeable when I am in a quiet place, oddly enough. Later on, I tested my hearing and found that I can comfortably hear 18400-19000 Hz (which is considered normal for my age), which hopefully rules out hearing damage.