Tinnitus from Club Bouncing / Shooting / Loud Music — Wondering If I'm Going Nuts

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by JesseLira, Jun 19, 2020.

1. JesseLira

JesseLira Member

Tinnitus Since:
      May 18,2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Club bouncer / Shooting / loud music
      Hello,

I’m new to tinnitus, I was diagnosed with tinnitus 5/18/20. It happened out of no where just laying there trying to sleep and boom instant ringing nonstop. I have my good days and bad days, I’m not really sure how to deal with it. I can’t concentrate at work and I’m trying to stay positive but it’s really put the brakes on my life.

I’ve read so much online and am hopeful that I can manage it but it’s rough as many of you know first hand. I try and explain to friends and family but they don’t get it, all they can say is that sucks!!!

I stress out due to work a lot and this makes it worse some days. ENT says I got it from younger days of club bouncing with all the loud music and from shooting not to mention earphones at a fairly loud volume. Not really sure I can pinpoint how or why and it doesn’t help that I specialize in home theatre, specifically Dolby Digital audio. Too late to change career but I’m now working off site.

I have an apt with audiologist Monday to get some tests done and maybe consider a hearing aid. I’m hoping this works, god I hope this works. worst part off it all is the lack of sleep, it’s worse at night and I have tried apps, white noise machines. Hate taking drugs but am considering something to help me sleep. Any suggestions?

Anyway thanks for letting me rant about my tinnitus. I wish everyone on here the absolute best.

It would be nice if there was an actual group in Los Angeles where people could meet up and talk about tinnitus.

• Hug Hug x 1
    2. JackJ

JackJ Member

Tinnitus Since:
      May 2012
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Medication
      Hi Jesee