Tinnitus Gurus Do Not Exist...

Discussion in 'Support' started by Jazzer, Jun 19, 2019.

1. Jazzer

Jazzer Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      1/1995
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise
      Tinnitus can be anything from mildly irritating to devastatingly catastrophic.
      Obviously we all fit in somewhere on the scale.

My own experience is twenty years of mild tinnitus.
      Followed by five years of severe tinnitus.
      Does this make me a tinnitus expert?
      Well, yes and no.
      I am an expert on my own tinnitus - ONLY!
      Not yours, and not anybody else’s.

Other than my first sentence above, there are no universal statements that can be made.

Of course, being socially motivated human ‘beans,’ we would all like to help each other, comfort each other, encourage each other onwards with their struggle.
      This, of course, is just what we should be doing - holding each other’s hand feels good.
      I love it when people are kind enough to hold my hand.
      (“Do unto others....” etc)

Even sharing our own individual experiences is a good thing as we may recognise similarities, and consequently feel less alone with this condition which is so isolating.
      Nobody can hear what we hear, can they?
      Nobody else truly knows.
      Essentially we suffer alone.

It may be very tempting to set ourselves up, with our very limited (sole) experience, as a healer, a tinnitus guru, to save the community from further discomfort and pain; but I’m afraid that is unrealistic.

What we can do, what we should do, is offer suggestions as to those things that have helped us to cope better, in the hope that they might help others.

I did manage, under instruction from an eminent psychotherapist, to cure my TMJ pain.
      This technique worked so well for me that I feel confident enough to pass it on.
      I can not say / I would not say, that it will necessarily work for you, or anybody else.