Tinnitus, Hyperacusis, Otalgia for Recording Musicians

Discussion in 'Support' started by GeorgeLG, May 30, 2022.

1. GeorgeLG
      Wishful

GeorgeLG Member

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2021
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Leaf blower, rock band, constr & comp shooting, chemo
      I am a recording musician (home studio) with all three conditions and otalgia (ear pain from normal sounds) in particular has been my biggest challenge. Given that recording music is one of the most important aspects of my life, I have put a lot of work into figuring out how to get past my hearing damage and still be able to keep this activity in my life. Here is what I have learned so that other musicians may be helped.

When recording, mixing, mastering wear foam earplugs to prolong working time, musician’s earplugs for more critical listening and no earplugs only for final mixing and mastering.

When tinnitus starts to spike or ear pain starts, give it a break and don’t overdo it. This way you’ll be back tomorrow, otherwise it may be next week. In the beginning overdoing the acoustic guitar cost me a month.

No headphones, use good monitors with smooth tweeters and much lower volumes than before. No aluminum drivers.

Be very careful when starting anything up with all volumes at zero then slow moves to avoid the unexpected audio slam

Practice guitar on an unplugged electric with good sustain and natural tone to reduce amplified exposure to prolong practice. For actual amplified playing use a creamy tube amp and find a mellower tone. If you need amp gain for your tone then use a load box to siphon off power levels to get back to a couple of watts at the speaker. Stay off of the bridge pick up. Move the speaker away from you, even isolated in a closet. For cleaner tones record direct into the audio interface. Almost no acoustic guitar for now, for me.

Use a MIDI piano to create a low volume pleasant tone in your DAW for practice and recording.