Tinnitus Musician

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Diego, Aug 26, 2013.

1. Diego

Diego Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Hello Everyone!

First of all, I would like to say thank you to everyone that is part of this community, is great to use the search field and find so many useful information coming from actual T sufferers and not just "generic blogs with basic T information"

Ok a little about myself and my T...

I am 28 years old (from Argentina). I have started playing/learning music since I was 14 years old...
      I play Death/Black Metal <--- yes, extreme "satanic" music :wideyed:
      All my life I have been in a LOUD environment: insane loud rehearsals, insane loud shows (big events and even worse small underground shows that can be truly loud), non-stop loud music while I work (I am also a programmer, you didn't expect I was living from music in a 3rd world country, right?) :p

In 2011 (cant really remember the month) I started listening a mild non stop ringing (peeee) in both of my ears, from that time I started to take care of my ears, started using ear plugs when rehearsing and going/playing to live shows...
      I also went to an ENT, he prescribed me Betahistine (and performed me an audiometry), I think I took the Betahistine pills for 1 month and a half...I noticed mild dizziness with no reduction of the T, so i stopped taking them and eventually completely forgot about my mild T (still was there, but my brain did a great job to ignore it completely).

26th of July - 2013 I went to an underground metal show and didn't take my earplugs (I know! very stupid mistake!) I just used cotton, the gig lasted 6 hours...
      The day after I had crazy ringing and a new white noise/tv signal in both of my ears...I thought that a day or 2 after the show, the ringing would go back to it's normal mild state...but nope...this has now become my new T level/sounds.