Tinnitus since November

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Stina, Jan 6, 2014.

1. Stina
      Psychedelic

Stina Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      11/13
      Hello !

My name is Anna-Stina (people mostly call me Anna). I am a 23-year-old woman from Estonia (it is a small and very cold country located next to Findland). My background is listening to my MP3 really loud from age 12-13 to 22. I always used cheap earplugs so the noise probably was not extremely loud (I couldnt hear others talk through it but I could hear noisy street traffic and the vacuum cleaner above it). Since the 16th of November in 2013 I started noticing a ringing in both my ears In the beginning both of my ears were occasionally locked, but that passed over time. Ironically, a month earlier I had quit listening to my MP3 and thrown it away. I was hoping that it would pass but it didnt. In Estonia the medical system is not so great - so far I have only managed to visit my GP. She told my that it was probably from stress (I did have a very stressful year with many other health problems (unrelated to tinnitus) and I tend to be a very anxious person) and it would probably pass on its own. Also, she said that noise-induced hearing loss does not come that fast. Based on the information I gathered online I feel that it is probably from excessive noise. I have therefore made an appointment with an ENT and will also try to visit and auditologist.