Treatment for Acute Tinnitus?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Filipo, Nov 24, 2015.

1. Filipo

Filipo Member

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2015
      Hi... Is there a drug or treatment for recent tinnitus?

I'm sorry if this subject was already answered, I am new to this and I can´t read everything. I read some things but I didn´t reach a conclusion, because of ambiguous results. I heard about Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy or some drugs still in experimental phase.

My T appeared four months ago from exposure to street noise which probably didn´t damage my inner ear (the ear was damaged from before). I had had hyperacusis for some months and some hearing loss, so maybe this combination was the cause (I pushed my sound tolerance too much and I was in a red-alert state).

My T is mild and reactive, in the sense that it changes with sound (from a pink noise-like sound to the same one but with a high-pitched cricket or electrical-like sound added to it).

Any information is welcomed!

2. Atlantis

Atlantis Member

Tinnitus Since:
      02/2014
      • Steroids (must be administered within 48 hours for best results)
      • AM-101 clinical trial, http://tinnitus-study.info (tinnitus onset 3-6 months max)
      • HBOT (Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy, the sooner it is started, the better)
      • Maybe a drug called Trobalt but it has serious side effects
      There's nothing else out there...!

3. Nucleo

Nucleo Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      02/2011
      @Atlantis covered it. That's pretty much all there is medically.

4. Michael Leigh

Michael Leigh Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      04/1996
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced
      HI Filipo,

You have had tinnitus just a short while and one of the best things that you can do is to leave things alone. Unless you have pain in your ears, loss of hearing, balance problems or dizziness wait a while as your auditory system will probably calm down and the tinnitus could go away.