Trying to Stay Positive

Discussion in 'Support' started by Annika1884, May 6, 2018.

1. Annika1884

Annika1884 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Dec
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Music
      Hi All,

How do you all cope with day to day life?

Do you work?

Do you have children?

If you had a child before tinnitus would you have another one now?

Do you still go out?

How do you live?

• Hug Hug x 1
      • Good Question Good Question x 1
    2. Mellow7

Mellow7 Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hey Annika.

I'm pretty new to this whole condition myself. Many of the questions you ask, are ones I have asked myself and others many times already as well. Everyone will find their own way to cope, but a general rule of thumb says that it takes time or radical improvement of the condition. I'm sure the veterans of this forum can tell you more about this. I just try to be patient, to accept it for what it is for now and to keep my stress levels low. Physical exercise and a generally healthy lifestyle also seem to help me.

I'm a university student, which requires a lot of work in concentration in relatively quiet circumstances. I try to achieve the concentration by masking with nature sounds (such a crickets, ocean waves, or sitting outside when the weather's good). I admit, it is not easy and I fear for my exams, but all things cost time and I will find my way forward somehow, as will you.

When it comes to going out, I have taken a much more careful attitude in the last few weeks. I try to give my ears as much rest as I can. I don't frequent loud places like bars at all anymore and don't use headphones even at low volumes. I do try to meet up with good friends every now and then in controlled environments.