Uneasy and Not Sure What to Expect

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by SA93, Apr 29, 2017.

1. SA93

SA93 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      24/04/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Think because of my seatbelt not on and beeping loud in car
      Hi there,

I have been looking at this forum for some days now. The ringing in my ears started on Monday evening and was quite loud when it started, however, after that night it has been fairly mild. I'm not quite sure what to expect. I only really hear it when I try to listen out for it and sometimes think it's going but because it's the brain that is creating the noise it's a hard one to suss.

Am I correct in thinking that there has never been a success story and by that of course getting used to it would be pretty amazing but I mean has anyone, in particularly on here, known it to go away?. I know this has been asked before but I'm 23 years old and am trying to cope with this already. I am studying for an exam and I'm in a good position in my life and this has given me major anxiety on top of what I was already experiencing with the exams. I can't eat either and it's hard to discuss with anyone's seeing as it's in my ear/head. I'm really unsure what to think. Do people carry on with their normal lives. Has this affected everyone on here with their career/love life etc?

2. Bill Bauer
      No Mood

Bill Bauer Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      February, 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic Trauma
      There is a high chance (70%?) that it will go away, in your case. Check out
      https://www.tinnitustalk.com/threads/spontaneous-recovery-stats-over-70-recover-3-studies.21441/

The fact that it is getting quieter so fast is a great sign!

Having said this, it will likely be months before you experience any improvement. Recovery is usually gradual, and not instantaneous. It is unlikely that the beeping of your car was loud enough to cause significant damage to your ears.