What Auditory Stimulation Is Safe When You Have Tinnitus? Music, Headphones, Playing the Guitar...

Discussion in 'Support' started by GenZen, May 11, 2021.

1. GenZen

GenZen Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hey Everyone, I'm pretty new to the experience of tinnitus, having just started suffering from it in 2020. My tinnitus is mild to moderate, is in just one ear, and I believe was brought on by a combination of stress and listening to music at excessive volume, both through earbuds and also in the car and elsewhere. Despite the years of loud music and the tinnitus I have near-perfect hearing.

My questions is, what kind of auditory stimulation is still safe now that I have developed tinnitus? I asked my ENT this question but he didn't give me a straight answer. I'm a huge music fan and really don't want to stop listening to music but I'm also worried about permanently exacerbating my tinnitus. I realize I can't listen to really loud music all the time like I was doing before but I still want to be able to listen to and enjoy rock music. So I have a couple of questions that you all might be able to help me with.
      • Can I still listen to rock music on headphones or earbuds? Right now I have my iPhone setup to limit sound to a max of 75 decibels.

• Can I go to rock concerts / shows once in a while? If so would it be beneficial to wear an ear plug in the ear with tinnitus?

• Can I still listen to loud music in my living room once in a while, i.e. concert DVDs?

• Can I still listen to semi-loud music in my car once in a while?

• I was hoping to learn electric guitar which would require me to use headphones so I don't disturb anyone else. Is this still a possibility?

• Is rock music generally more dangerous to your auditory system than other genres like hip-hop or classical music because of the relatively high frequencies? Or is it just the loudness of the sound that is a factor?