What I've Learned About Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Support' started by AmericanJosh, Aug 31, 2018.

1. AmericanJosh

AmericanJosh Member

Tinnitus Since:
      8/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      noise exposure while doing work on home
      When I got my tinnitus, I did a ton of research and also landed at this site. I love the success stories and my heart goes out to those who are suffering and struggling with their tinnitus.

From what I have read on here, and based on my knowledge and experience as a social worker, I think we can categorize those with tinnitus as follows.

Group 1: Those who have tinnitus that, for the most part, is mild or moderate. These people usually have few other health-related issues and are generally mentally healthy as well. Most of these people have their tinnitus resolve or habituate to it and lead normal lives.

Group 2: This group is primarily made up of people who have moderate, severe, and most often catastrophic tinnitus, though some may have mild tinnitus. Those in this group may have pre-existing co-morbid mental or physical health issues. For them, the tinnitus is the last straw that makes life unbearable.

Group 3: This group is like group 2, but pre-existing mental health issues, including anxiety, depression, and obsessive-compulsive disorder, make even mild tinnitus catastrophic in their mind. Constant focusing on the issue, listening for the sound, and panicking over the situation makes a resolution and/or habituation nearly impossible, though it would be likely in most cases.

What are your thoughts?

• Agree Agree x 2
      • Funny Funny x 1
    2. Wolfears

Wolfears Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Jan 20/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Most likely accoustic trauma
      You are missing group 4.
      This group is the same as 2 and 3, except the sufferers have no pre-existing mental or physical condition.
      Just bad Tinnitus.

• Agree Agree x 2
      • Like Like x 1
    3. Autumnly
      Wishful