White Noise Makes Tinnitus Worse?

Discussion in 'Support' started by LisaH, Mar 14, 2018.

1. LisaH

LisaH Member

Tinnitus Since:
      2/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Likely an Ultrasonic Dental Cleaning
      Hi all,

Newbie here (3 weeks 1 day in, not that I'm counting or anything)...I've noticed that (a) my tinnitus is always worse at night (as if I have "fatigued" my ears throughout the day), and that (b) the fan I use at night to help "mask" my tinnitus seems to make it worse (louder, more piercing, sometimes results in morse-code style "beeping").

Is this commonplace? This "reaction" to white noise? Ambient noise (I'm a teacher, so my classroom is a relatively "safe" space) masks my T to bearable levels during the day, but when I deliberately try to mask with white noise, rain apps, etc., my ears seem to react negatively. I dread going into quiet places, and I would like to be able to "mask" effectively with white/pink noise, apps, sound machine, etc. without making my situation from bad to worse.

Anyone else have the same impact from white noise? And if so, what's left for us when white noise doesn't work?

Thank you!!

2. Kelvin

Kelvin Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      June 2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Dental Work
      I have found that mine also hates most White Noise samples...it kind of 'hisses' back at it and ramps up in volume.

Mine also hates water sounds ( particularly flushing toilets:barefoot::ROFL: ), cutlery and complex / multiple voice situations like restaurants, bars etc.

I did find one White noise 'cricket' like sample that helps a bit for a short time. It is here :-

www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xs5Ggk2_gfs

I also tried softened Pink noise which didn't cause a reaction but also didn't help.

I am back to talk radio ( quiet ) on bad days.

I need some noise and distraction, but for me it needs to be like radio and not a manufactured sound...it seems ;)

Fact is T and H are weird and specific to you.